More reasons why I *heart* Camera+

I have been busy re-editing the photos I took with the iPhone 3GS especially with regard to the trip to England in 2010. The photos I originally published onto WordPress with the posts just looked terrible, washed out and looked out of focus. Granted the iPhone camera isn’t a high megapixel camera but you can still produce really high quality pictures with the megapixel you’re working with when you have the proper camera apps, which I did not have at the time. And it helps to post your pictures onto Flickr and link to it in your posts as opposed to posting directly if you don’t have a self hosted blog.

I’ve been using Camera+ app to do my photo edits and I must say, the edits breathe new life to the images. Camera+ has multiple set scenes which you can use to adjust your photos to the correct coloring. You can then add an FX, which can enhance your image in a variety of ways and this is where you have a little bit of control. For the re-edits of the photos of the England trip, I’ve been correcting the scene with either “auto”, “clarity”, “flash”, “portrait”, and “scenery”. Each scene has it’s purpose and does a great job in correcting the lighting of the photo. The FX I’ve used frequently are (though not in any frequent use order) “vibrant”, “sunkissed”, “magic hour”, “so emo”, “fashion”, “overlay”, and “cross processed”.

Below are examples of photos which compare the original followed with edited versions, and an explanation.

Example 1:

This photo was taken at Castle Howard outside of the city of York. As you can see, the original has a bit too much exposure so the image is a bit washed out. The water looks a bit murky and the goldfish look dull.

20110623-075340.jpg

I was able to fix this photo with “clarity” and “vibrant”. I selected “clarity” because it help to lighten areas where it was too dark and darken areas where it was too light. “Vibrant” helped to bring out more color in the subjects. And then I decided to crop the photo using the preset “golden” so the photo could be more focused on the subjects to the right of the cupid sculpture. I even added a “vignette” border to concentrate the viewer’s attention.

With the modification, the water is clearer and the goldfish seem to come alive. Even the cupid sculpture is more defined and noticed as a feature in the photo. I also really like how the greens, blues, and orange became richer. The photo seems to be more animated, in my opinion.

Fish pond

Example 2:

Here is a picture I took of Leadenhall Market in London, England. As you can see, it’s a bit dark and lacks detail. The colors are muted to the point that it lacks recognition.

Leadenhall Market

The photo above was edited with “clarity” and then followed up with “color dodge”. I personally don’t know exactly what “color dodge” does but when I was deciding between “color dodge” and “overlay”, “color dodge” gave me the coloring I wanted for this photo. I like that the whites are blown out; it really livens up the photo and the space I was trying to capture.

Leadenhall Market

Example 3:

Here is a photo of the Millennium Bridge in London. This was taken late in the afternoon. The sun was about to set. The original photo does not properly show the afternoon sun setting along the Thames River.

Millennium Bridge

I edited the original photo with “scenery”, which punched up the color, shadows, and brightened up the photo. I then added “magic hour”, which gave the image a kind of lazy warmth. I thought these combinations worked well to give me that late afternoon lighting of the bridge along the river with St. Paul’s cathedral in the distance.

And as you may have noticed, I also cropped the photo using the preset format, “golden”. By using this particular preset format, the crop gives the photo a bit of a panoramic feel of the bridge extending from end to the other side of the Thames.

Millennium Bridge

Example 4:

This is a photo of St. Paul’s in London. As you can see, it was a sunny day and the photo has too much exposure because I was aiming up towards the sky. The photo begins to look a bit washed out. I was trying to capture the architectural details of the facade.

20110624-045849.jpg
In the edited version, I modified the photo using the “portrait” scene to brighten it up. The “portrait” scene works very well for other subjects in addition to people, and then added an “overlay” FX to blow out some of the areas that lacked interest and highlight the interesting architectural features like the columns, pediment, and frieze.

St. Paul's

Example 5:

Here is a photo of St. Paul’s coming off The Millennium Bridge, a typical shot but even as a typical shot, it should still be distinct.

20110624-043355.jpg

I enhanced the photo by adjusting the scene with “auto”, which brightened the image but still get the contrast. I then added the “cross process” FX, which gave the “auto” adjusted photo with a nice wash of warm afternoon sun. I like how the “cross process” effect highlighted the architectural details, which seem to be lost in the original photo.

St. Paul's

These are just a small sample of photos I edited with the Camera+ app. It is definitely a great improvement from the original, which were taken with the iPhone camera only. When I realized I could salvage many of the photos from the trip to England especially the photos taken in London, I proceeded to edit all relevant photos. I don’t see photo editing as work, I see it as fun!

Leave a Reply

