Union Square through a pinhole

Well, I finally have the results of the pinhole camera pictures I took a few months ago. This first batch was taken during a quiet day in Union Square. I say quiet because it was on one of those days when the farmers’ market is not set up. Not even the art vendors were around. It was a bright sunny day too, which you will notice… Though I took lots of pictures that day, most of them repetitive views, I have only posted a handful on Flickr and even a small selection here. I’ve contemplated doing a bit of post processing work on them seeing as these pictures were saved digitally from the film processor. I do think they could use a bit of work but then thought against it because I think the images will lose it’s authenticity. I don’t think they would be less of a pinhole camera picture but rather, the photos would be pretentious. And I don’t want that.

Anyways, please feel free to leave comments or feedback on this post or on Flickr.

Union Square subway entrance
I admit this photo is a bit washed out; too much time, I think. What I do like about it is that it captures the bustling of Union Square. If you are not familiar with Union Square, it is one of the major train hubs in Manhattan where you can connect to the 4, 5, 6, L, N, R, W trains. Union Square itself is also surrounded by popular brand shops, great places to eat, movie theater, hotel, banks, and higher education. It’s a great location!

* * * * *

Union Square Coffee Shop

This is not a particularly interesting shot initially but it strikes up memories for me. I met a date here once for a late night rendezvous… This is a very popular restaurant especially for weekend brunch. You can expect to wait at least 30 minutes on a Saturday or Sunday to get a table here where the waitresses are supposedly aspiring actresses and/or models. The food is pretty good, too.

Plus, it was directly opposite a subway entrance where the pinhole camera was propped up.

* * * * *

Union Square West

I don’t recall if I was aware of the man in the foreground but I’m glad he was in the shot. When I take pictures, if I can, I would prefer not to have people in it. But I think for this one, having the dynamic figure in the foreground helps the photo. Otherwise, it would just be a dull image of some street scene…

Leave a Reply

